The oldest castle in Ireland dating to 1228, Ashford fits everyone’s fantasy of a medieval fortress with soaring turrets, breathtaking views of Lough Corrib and a resident ghost. Once owned by the Guinness family, it opened as a hotel in 1939. Its rooms and suites boast traditional design with original features carefully restored, plus the moderb amenities of a luxury hotel. The rural setting accommodates a host of outdoor activities, including fly-fishing, golf, horseback riding, and hawk flying overseen by Ireland’s first school of falconry. The hotel’s historical details and sprawling grounds make it a romantic getaway for couples, who can relax in the treatment rooms or dine in their choice of two restaurants, the elegant George V Restaurant or the traditional “Cullen’s at the Cottage.”
- Sir Benjamin Guinness designed much of the 300 acres of gardens
- Europe’s second-oldest Christian inscription is visible nearby St. Patrick’s island.
- Two churches, one on castle grounds and one nearby are available for weddings.
- The Quiet Man, starring John Wayne was filmed in and around the hotel in 1951.
- Cong Abbey, ruins from an early 7th century Augustine Abbey all nearby.